Review: Follow Me Darkly by Helen Hardt

Release Date: 09.27.2020
Series: Follow Me, #1
Publisher: Entangled: Amara
Genre: Billionaire Romance, Contemporary Romance

Buy Links:


Follow the Author:


Follow Me Darkly by Helen Hardt


I’ve always been a control freak. But he makes me crave submission…

Working for a hotel heiress and social media influencer may not be my dream job, but at least it allows me time to do what I really love—take photographs. Pretty good for a wholesome farm girl from Kansas trying to make it in Boston. Life may not be easy working for a diva, but at least I know what to expect.

Until blue-collar billionaire Braden Black strides into the office. He’s beyond handsome and sexy, but also domineering with a definite hard edge. I’m not sure why he’s interested in me, but within a few weeks, he’s showing me a world I never knew existed.

He’s opened up a side of me I can only face in the dark, and it’s quickly becoming an obsession. How can I give up something this addictive—even if his secrets could ultimately destroy me?


I read Helen Hardt a long time ago but I haven’t kept up with all of her series much for some reason because I enjoyed what I did read. For Follow Me Darkly, I was hooked from the first moment I laid eyes on this book, and I knew I just had to have it. The cover is beautiful and the synopsis sounded so good. Hardt writes in a way that keeps you wanting more and her characters are amazingly well developed. I really enjoyed everything this book had to offer. It was also a pretty quick read for me, which I appreciated.

Skye was very easy to connect with. She’s just an ordinary girl from Kansas who has big hopes and dreams for her future. She’s down-to-earth and completely the type of person I see me having as a friend. Throughout the book we see her war with herself on wanting control and submission all at the same time and I feel as if Hardt really captivated that way of thinking. I understood it and was able to see why Skye made the choices she made. I didn’t feel as if she was a push over or lacked a backbone at all; on the contrary she made it abundantly clear on her feelings and what she able to put up with. This made her a top A heroine in my eyes.

Braden, for me, was your typical billionaire. He wants control, he has more money than God, and he devastatingly handsome. (There’s really only so many ways you can play out this character type.) I did enjoy how he was domineering only in certain situations and seemed to like Skye’s need for control *ahem* outside of the bedroom. They fit together really well.

The storyline was pretty good and kept me wanting to know more. The characters were easy to relate to and likable, and the ending kind of shocked me a little. Overall, Hardt’s Follow Me Darkly was sensual, captivating, and enjoyable all the way through. If you’re looking for something that’s quick to read and has loads of steaminess then this book is definitely for you!

Thank you Entangled for the digital ARC. The views and opinions I have expressed here are solely my own and are in no way a representation of the views and opinions of the author, publisher, and/or distributor.

Published by Jacki @ Bout-A-Book

Hi! The name is Jacki. I love diving into worlds not my own and then blogging about it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.